I'm new in real estate, and I wanna know what you guys do if the industry is in drought. Let's say almost after a month since your last sale? What do you guys do when the market is down and you have no homes listed with you being sold.

I'm not being pessimistic or anything, in fact I love this industry, I just want to be prepared.

Views: 16

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

That's a great question.

I'm a former casualty of the Florida housing market myself.
Here are some of the things that I did.

First, take a look at the changing market and ask yourself...What do people need right now?

1. They need help with foreclosures.
2. They might need new phone numbers because creditors are harassing them.
3. They might need help moving, moving supplies, etc.

For myself, I saw an opportunity to start placing offers on all of the properties in the MLS.
Then I created and patented a product that lets people place 100 offers per day...all at 50% of asking price. You can check it out here if you like. MLSGorilla.com

For yourself, you will need to spend some time thinking about this. The average "Days On Market" house before the housing runup of the early 2000's was over 3 months...not 3 weeks.

Take this time to get educated and network with other individuals that are in it for the long term. You are in a great place to get started.

Matt
I think this is a good question too. I say just target a new place. This industry will never die anyway, just find a place where RE is still "in". If you really love the industry you will not give up with just a simple drought.

But of course, you should know when to stop hehe.
The question is great. Everyone should read this thread.

Thanks for the reply Matt. I will check MLSGorilla.com later too. Gosh, it's so hard to earn money these days!

Matt Gerchow said:
That's a great question.
I'm a former casualty of the Florida housing market myself. Here are some of the things that I did.